What is each experience craving for?

Acharya Prashant
4 min readMay 4, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: I cannot really wrap my head around this when I say, “Okay fine, at this point that I am greedy for experiences, and I want to go out and may be get a massage for myself.”

So once I have understood that I am greedy for new experiences, and I am seeking a new experience, this means that I am supporting the greed. How am I supposed to understand, so that I am free of this greed? As Jiddu Krshnamurti says, “If you understand fear, you are free of fear.”

What is this ‘understanding’ then?

Acharya Prashant: You are not greedy for the experience. You are greedy for what the experience would purportedly bring to you.

The experiencer wants fulfillment, and that is what the experience promises to bring him. It is not the experience that is paramount, but the promise. And it is okay to buy into that promise sometimes. But don’t you want to verify that the promise has been kept?

You bought into a promise. You bought yourself a massage. Has the promise been kept? Has the massage delivered what it promised? That’s what you should verify.

Q: Should I do this for each experience?

--

--