What is Remembrance?

Acharya Prashant
14 min readOct 14, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

अर्जुन उवाच।

नष्टो मोह: स्मृतिर्लब्धा त्वत्प्रसादान्मयाच्युत।

स्थितोऽस्मि गतसन्देह: करिष्ये वचनं तव।।

arjuna uvācha

naṣhṭo mohaḥ smṛitir labdhā tvat-prasādān mayāchyuta

sthito ‘smi gata-sandehaḥ kariṣhye vachanaṁ tava

Arjuna said: O infallible one, by your grace my illusion has been dispelled, and I am situated in knowledge. I am now free from doubts, and I shall act according to your instructions.

~ Chapter 18, Verse 73

✥ ✥ ✥

Acharya Prashant (AP): So, we have read that the topic for today is smṛitir labdhā. It relates to remembrance. It is important to put a little context on these words.

In the Bhagavad Gita, these are the last words uttered by Arjuna, becoming the last chapter obviously, and are close to being the final verses. Arjuna is declaring that “I have regained remembrance”. So, one…

--

--