What is the energy behind sex?

Acharya Prashant
19 min readJul 22, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Acharya Prashant: The fundamental energy of sex is man himself, mind himself. There is the source, the core, then there is the ‘I’ tendency and then there are the various forms that the ‘I’ tendency takes. Whatever be the form that the ‘I’ tendency takes, the form is utilized for the fundamental purpose of the ‘I’ tendency.

The ‘I’, the Ego has just one purpose — to satiate itself, to come to a completion. The ‘I’ is like a burning mass. It’s a thirsty unit. It wants to somehow quench itself. That is one thing. Second thing is, the ‘I’ knows only one way of satiating itself, that is through association with objects. The ego tendency, the ‘I’ believes that the route to fulfillment passes through the world, through objects.

So, it keeps on getting associated with one object after the other to get fulfilled. The objects keep varying, the tendency does not vary. The objects keep varying, the intention of the Ego does not vary. The intention is the same. The intention is to gain total fulfillment through the object. The intention is to use the object as a means to come to the ultimate, to come to a closure.

That which you see, appearing as sex after a particular age, and till a particular age, is nothing but the fundamental drive of the…

--

--