What is your primary inner need?

Acharya Prashant
3 min readSep 17, 2021

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Acharya Ji, I have three questions. I think, according to me, all three are co-related to each other. I want to know how to make the best use of resources. And how to manage oneself. And how to be better with decision making. Because on a recent day, I found that I’m not good enough with my resources like time, money. Then, my elder brother said to me that I’m not good enough with my decision-making. And I also admit it.

Acharya Prashant: When you say how should you use your resources, you must, first of all, know what do you want to use your resources for. All your resources are for your sake. Why do you require those resources at all? “Who am I to make use of those resources?” You cannot just arbitrarily put some resource to some use. If I need something to use as a bandage on this arm, then that’s the use I’ll put my resources to. If I need something to carry me from this place to that place, then that’s the use I’ll put my resources to.

Resources come later. The user of the resources comes first. So I’m asking, “To whom are those resources?” If you say, “Here I am. Tell me how to use my resources in the most optimal way?” Then there can be no answer. The answer has to start with you. What’s your life like? What’s your inner world like? What…

--

--