What kind of mind needs entertainment?

Acharya Prashant
2 min readApr 6, 2020

What kind of mind needs entertainment?

The restless, bored mind.

Now, what is important? To find a solution to the problem of entertainment or go to the root problem? ‘Why am I bored at all? Why do I need entertainment?

Obviously, I need entertainment! All the shopping malls are crowded in the weekends. Everybody needs entertainment. And why do people need entertainment?

People need entertainment because they do soul sapping jobs throughout the week.

For five days I do something I shouldn’t have done, so last two days I want to get away somewhere. They have those weekend getaways, weekend parties. What should I do in this situation? Entertain myself more or look closely at the boredom? For five days of the week I am being killed, last two days I want to drink a lot. What should I do? Drink more and more or avoid being killed? If your friends help you get more and more entertainment, are they really your friends?

If they are removed, chances are you will get the space to look clearly at the real problem.

You are stressed out because there is the possibility of the weekend. Why do I tolerate my Tuesdays and Wednesdays? It is because there is a Saturday and Sunday awaiting me.

Remove Saturdays and Sundays and people will stop tolerating their Wednesdays and Thursdays. So Saturday and Sunday are the reason why all the torture of Thursday and Friday is tolerated.

Remove Saturday and Sunday, and things will be alright. Nobody would then engage themselves in such mindless work.

You are welcome to know more about Acharya Prashant and the work of the Foundation. You can also contact the Foundation directly.

--

--