When does a situation become a problem?

Acharya Prashant
9 min readNov 23, 2019

“It is the incapacity to understand a challenge that brings about a problem.”

~ J. Krishnamurti

We all face problems, and whenever we face problems, to every problem, we are fond of attributing a reason. To every problem, we attribute a reason. What are the kinds of reasons, we associate normally with our problems? The other person is not understanding.

Your medical reports just came and it shows that your heart is not in good shape. Problem. Now what reason do you associate with it? I am in a horrid schedule, tied to it, and it is my schedule, that is the cause of this problem.

You are working somewhere and there the appraisal reports are not quite fine, that scares you. Problem. What reason do you attach to it? This place is not for me. I am cut out for this place. I am for some other job. And the Boss doesn’t really understand me. And the environment is not conducive to my productivity.

You are facing tensions in the family. Problem. What all reasons come up? They don’t understand me. Oh well I tried, but I can’t go overboard with trying, I have my own human limits. What else do they want me to do? I have already sacrificed enough. Doesn’t a fellow have his own individuality? Why should I conform to their…

--

--