When there are no questions to ask the Teacher

Acharya Prashant
5 min readOct 8, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Dear Acharya Ji, Pranaam! I know that online sessions are interactive. A question needs to be asked, and the question will be addressed by you. Sometimes I desperately search for a question to ask, maybe just so that I may participate and my presence is acknowledged, but nothing comes to mind.

At other times, I feel the need to say something but then again it is all garbled in the mind. No clear thoughts emerge. It’s like a dumb person who is trying to speak but can’t say something. Am I not able to express myself clearly? Is something holding me back?

Sometimes these thoughts come to mind, especially when we are urged to ask questions in the sessions. So I thought I will put it out to you so as to bring it to light.

Thank you for your love and guidance, and infinite patience with all of us.

Acharya Prashant (AP): There are many aspects to this, you see.

First thing — one need not always ask a question. Listening is enough. The ego tendency is one, and therefore fundamentally the mind of mankind is just one. Therefore, the question asked by one person is in some way, the question of entire mankind. Even if you say that your question is…

--

--