Who do you think will help you?

Acharya Prashant
3 min readNov 13, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

In good times, there are many companions around, but in bad times, there is no one at all. Says Nanak, vibrate, and meditate on the Lord; He shall be your only Help and Support in the end. ||32||

~ Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji, Salok Mahalla

Guru Granth Sahib Ji, Ang 14128

Question: Acharya Ji, it is my tendency to seek help from those whom I consider to be good and reliable. I want to know the truth of what Guru Teg Bahadur Ji is saying in this verse because when I seek help from others, I usually spoil and strain my relationships, and even the help does not come.

How can I see that the only genuine help is the one that comes from the Lord?

Acharya Prashant (AP): It depends on what is the quality of help that you call ‘final’.

There is help that comes from the world, and there is help that comes from the Lord. Which of these two helps do you more desperately want?

The verse that you are quoting says, “He shall be your only Help and Support in the end.” ‘End’ does…

--

--