Why do people commit suicide?

Acharya Prashant
7 min readOct 7, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): Why do people commit suicide?

Acharya Prashant (AP): They still have a lot of hope. They feel that suicide would redeem them. They have not given up everything. They are still carrying a lot of hope. If I do not know what is beyond life, how can I enter that which is beyond life? Surely, I am placing my hopes there.

Even in suicide, there lies a lot of arrogance. I’m asking you, what if your troubles continue even after suicide? Now, what would you kill? There is a lot of knowledgeability contained in suicide. You feel that suicide would bring your troubles to an end. What if it does not? Now, what would you do? And it is irreversible.

If you are really disappointed, then you would be so disappointed that you can’t even commit suicide. You would say, “I am disappointed with everything, including suicide.” You’d say, “I’m sure nothing works and everything that I will try for myself would backfire.” Now how can you have the doership to commit suicide?

Q2: Is acknowledgment the only way for self-realization?

AP: Of course, because there is no way that is needed. Acknowledgment is spontaneous. To experience is to acknowledge. If you are experiencing trouble, you have…

--

--