Why must kids turn vegan?

Acharya Prashant
6 min readAug 22, 2020

The following excerpt is from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): As a vegan parent I am not concerned about my ability to show compassion, but rather about some choices that I have to make for the sake of my daughter’s well-being. She is very choosy towards vegan protein sources, and that is why we have to sometimes buy dairy products for her. Every time I have to do that, I feel bad.

So there is this conflict between choice of providing her with nutritionally balanced diet and with my heartfelt refusal to take part in the exploitation of other living beings.

I wonder if there is any right and wrong in this.

Acharya Prashant (AP) : We are neither prakritik (natural) beings nor do we live in Truth fully.

If you look at the animals in the jungle, they live totally by prakriti (nature). If you look at Saints, they live totally by the Heart. In the industrialised world man lives neither as a prakritik being and nor as a being of Truth.

We live by the mind, we love by the intellect. The intellect has created all these problems that we are facing. Veganism is a response to the problems created by intellect. We don’t have to teach Veganism to animals, neither we have to teach Veganism to Saints.

Animals don’t need

--

--