With youth: Before you understand others, silence your mind

Acharya Prashant
4 min readNov 23, 2022

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Acharya Prashant (AP): This is a camera (holding a smartphone in hand, pointing towards the camera), and let’s say that there is something written over here (pointing at the wall). I want to let it come to me through this camera and I record it using this camera and the camera is vibrating throughout, it is disturbed, heavily disturbed.

This is the way I am recording it (shaking the phone in his hand) and then I look at the recording and want to understand what is there.

Will I be able to understand anything?

Will I be able to read that?

No!

That (pointing at the wall) is the world, we look at the world through our..?

Through our..?

Listeners (L): Eyes.

AP: Yes, eyes bring it in. But we comprehend it through our..?

L: Mind.

AP: Mind! If my mind is disturbed and vibrating all the time, can I read the world then?

I can’t!

Yes, surely we can understand the other person. We can understand what’s going on in the world.

--

--