With youth: How to have no regrets?

Acharya Prashant
3 min readJan 19, 2023

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Sir, I often get affected by others. I depend on others to tell me what is right and what is wrong, and when that happens I often find myself regretting later. Later, I feel disappointed that why did I allow myself to be affected by others' opinions, words, actions, and whatsoever. How to have no regrets?

Acharya Prashant: I would be very happy even if there is a single individual who understands what this ‘right and wrong’ are all about.

You see, we talked of two layers of education. Similarly, there are two layers of ‘right and wrong’. The first layer deals with ‘right and wrong’ which are specific to time, place, country, occasion, and many other variables. Such ‘rights and wrongs’ keep changing. What is right in one country is wrong in another country, what is wrong in one house is right in another. At the same place, what was right a few years back is considered wrong now.

For sure, there is nothing sacred or unchanging about these ‘rights and wrongs’.

The first layer of ‘rights and wrongs’. They are man-made, and they keep changing. There is no point in holding them sacred. There is no point asking somebody that am I right or am I wrong because all that somebody can give is his…

--

--