You are free, now why do you act helpless?

Acharya Prashant
8 min readNov 7, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Consciously, let’s say, I come to Dharamkot. Five days ago, let’s say, I decide to come to Manali, in Manali, I would have had a different lifestyle. And I come to this Dharamkot because I traveled by different things. That’s why based on this limited information I have, I made this decision. In reality, all my decisions might be wrong. I probably was wrong for these five days.

Acharya Prashant (AP): You see, if you decide as the restless one, do you know where the restlessness is? The restlessness is in your mind. Right? You do not hold it in your hands, restlessness is in your mind. It is the very foundation of all your decisions, thoughts, experiences, perceptions; it is quite deep. It is that assumption from which all other experiences and observations emerge.

You go to Manali, what do you carry along with you? The restlessness. You come to Dharmkot, what do you carry along with you? The restlessness. Wherever you go, you may go to the most serene place in the world, and yet what is it that you will be carrying along with you? Restlessness. It may be serene outside, within, you will continue to be restless.

Now, of course, as things change outside, superficially something will change within you as…

--

--